My Inner Strength

mother-and-2-kidsI lived in an emotionally abusive relationship for many years. It escalated to a physically abusive relationship. I had to beg for my life and lived in fear and endless shame for countless years. I was alone. It was an extremely difficult time. I searched for answers to my situation. As a young woman, I really did not know what was wrong with me. My mind went desperately looking for answers.

I did not have anyone that I could trust after I experienced betrayal from my ex-girlfriends and “so-called” family friends. Thus, I tried self-help books in the hope of self-healing and finding some reasonable explanations. But the outcome was very disappointing. By the time I signed up with the CCS, I was in the darkest stage of my life.

I really lost any trust in life and MYSELF. I was devastated and still pretended to be happy in front of my children, parents, friends, and clients. My self-esteem went to the floor. I was just not able to deal with the situation any more. Laughing and smiling was just a mechanical act to avoid more verbal and physical abuse from him and keeping my job to pay bills.

Inside me, my thoughts and emotions were out of control. My mind struggled to find answers. I lost my ability to think and trust. My fears made my life totally meaningless. I felt I was a burden, nothing more.

After so many tearing sessions with my therapist at CCS, I started to see my life differently. My therapist focused on helping me find my inner strengths to deal with my situation. My therapist helped me build up my confidence to live a healthy life. It has been one of the most wonderful journeys with my therapist. I have learned so much about life and myself. My life became more beautiful. I learned to love and take care of myself. I have learned about resources and tools to help for my own safety and well-being. I feel much better about myself. My children are the two beneficiaries of my transformation.

My therapist was the only hope I had in two years. The counseling room was the only place I felt safe. I am very grateful for all the help I received from my CCS. Finally, I want to thank all the kind donors that made my children’s holidays memorable. It was priceless to a mom seeing smiles on my children’s faces.

I hope I have the ability and chance to help others in the near future.

 

|| Connect with CCS! || Facebook || Twitter || Instagram || Pinterest|| Website ||

Leave a Reply

